Corn Island

In order to get even more Caribbean feeling and to relax from the exciting journey we spent the last week at Corn Island (or "Islas del Maíz") - a little paradise consisting of two island in the Caribbean Sea.

Although the natural disasters of the last years left its marks here too and the islander live in very poor circumstances, their hospitality and zest for life let our stay become an exceptional time.

We met Sparqui, a local lobster fisherman, who invited us for a meal and we followed. A few times we stayed with him and his family, he told us a lot about the everyday-life on the island, about his view to history and politics of the country and about the Mísquito Indians, an ethnic group in Nicaragua with its own language and culture. Together we cooked Rondon, a typical dish with lobster, fish and coconut milk.

Wonderful beaches, coral reefs for snorkelling and diving, dishes right from the sea, reggae music and parties made our stay perfect…

We spent 2 days on Little Corn Island - as the name said the smaller one of the two islands, but an increase of romance, Caribbean cliché and unspoilt nature, including snow-white, virtually deserted beaches! Here you can still feel like Robinson Crusoe - almost too good to be true!

Somehow a good feeling to know that there are still places like this one in the world!


Dreamlike beaches at Corn Island

Cooking with Sparqui

Waiting for the sunset

At Little Corn Island

all pictures

For time reasons we went back to Managua by plane. There we did a few last things and celebrated our goodbye from Carlos before we went back to the hard reality at the return flight…







   San Juan


   El Castillo


   Corn Island

home | route & map | travelogue | pictures | people & friends | guestbook | links | contact

Zur Sartseite Route & Karte Reisebericht Die schönsten Fotos der Reise People & Friends Gästebuch Nicaragua- Links Kontakt & Impressum english versionwww.ak11.de

Corn Island

Um noch weiter in das karibische Flair einzutauchen und uns von der aufregenden Reise zu entspannen, verbrachten wir die letzte Woche auf Corn Island (oder Islas del Maíz) - ein kleines Paradies bestehend aus 2 Inseln mitten im Karibischen Meer.

Obwohl die Naturkatastrophen der letzten Jahre auch hier deutliche Spuren hinterlassen haben und die Inselbewohner in sehr einfachen Verhältnissen leben, machten ihre Gastfreundschaft und die ansteckende Lebensfreude unseren Aufenthalt hier zu einer außergewöhnlichen Zeit!

Wir lernten Sparqui kennen, einen einheimischen Lobster-Fischer, dessen Einladung zum Essen wir gerne folgten. Einige Male waren wir bei ihm und seiner Familie zu Gast, er erzählte uns viel über das Inselleben, über seine Sicht zu Geschichte und Politik Nicaraguas und über die Mísquito Indianer, eine ethnische Gruppe in Nicaragua mit eigener Sprache und Kultur. Zusammen kochten wir Rondon, ein typisches Gericht mit Lobster, Fisch und Kokosnuss-Milch.

Traumhafte Strände, Korallenriffe zum Schnorcheln und Tauchen, Mahlzeiten direkt aus dem Meer, die allgegenwärtige Reggae-Musik inclusive entsprechender Parties taten ihr Übriges...

2 Tage verbrachten wir außerdem auf Little Corn Island - wie der Name vermuten läßt, die kleinere der beiden Inseln, aber noch einmal eine Steigerung an Romantik, karibischem Klischee und unberührter Natur einschließlich schneeweißen, nahezu menschenleeren Stränden. Hier kann man sich noch fühlen wie Robinson Crusoe... fast zu schön, um wahr zu sein!

Irgendwie ein tolles Gefühl, zu wissen, dass es solche Orte auf der Welt noch gibt!

 


Traumstrand auf Corn Island



Kochen mit Sparqui



Warten auf den Sonnenuntergang



Auf Little Corn Island


alle Fotos



Aus Zeitgründen ging es per Flugzeug nach Managua zurück, wo wir letzte Erledigungen machten und Abschied von Carlos feierten, bevor uns der harte Alltag auf dem Rückflug wieder einholte...


VIVA NICARAGUA!





  ROUTE:

   Managua

   Massaya

   Granada

   Ometepe

   San Juan

   Leon

   El Castillo

   Bluefields

   Corn Island

home | route & karte | reisebericht | fotos | people & friends | gästebuch | links | kontakt