Capital, economic and political centre of the country and residence of more than a fifth of the total population of Nicaragua. The aftermath of a devastating earthquake in 1972, which destroyed almost the whole city centre, have been obvious up to now. Ruins have been left, new houses were built up at other places.

Colour and smell of the once so beautiful Lake Managua testifies in a depressing way of the fact that all (!) of the sewage of the city run into the lake. There are plans to improve the situation but they haven't put into action yet for financial reasons.

Carlos - Austrian Nicaraguan (or the other way round?) who we met by chance - showed us the most interesting and most important places of the "new" and the "old" Managua. Without him we wouldn't have seen so much in this extensive city, especially because there were no street names or other points of reference to orientate oneself.

He told us all interesting facts about politics and history, about lifestyle and characteristics of the locals and of course about himself- a perfect start for our travel through the country!

View at the city and the Lake Managua

At the "Plaza de República"

all pictures

on to Massaya







   San Juan


   El Castillo


   Corn Island

home | route & map | travelogue | pictures | people & friends | guestbook | links | contact

Zur Sartseite Route & Karte Reisebericht Die schönsten Fotos der Reise People & Friends Gästebuch Nicaragua- Links Kontakt & Impressum english versionwww.ak11.de

Managua

Hauptstadt, wirtschaftliches und politisches Zentrum des Landes und Wohnort von mehr als einem fünftel der Gesamtbevölkerung Nicaraguas. Die Folgen eines verheerenden Erdbebens 1972, dass nahezu den ganzen Stadtkern zerstörte, sind bis heute deutlich sichtbar. Trümmer blieben liegen, neues wurde an anderer Stelle gebaut.

Farbe und Geruch des einst so schönen Managua-Sees zeugen auf deprimierende Weise davon, dass sämtliche (!) Abwässer der Stadt in den See fließen. Für eine Verbesserung der Situation existieren Pläne, die jedoch wegen fehlender Finanzierung bisher nicht umgesetzt wurden.

Carlos - österreichischer Nicaraguaner (oder umgekehrt?), den wir durch einige Zufälle kennenlernten, zeigte uns die interessantesten und bedeutendsten Plätze des "alten" und "neuen" Managuas. Ohne ihn wäre uns vieles in dieser weitläufigen Stadt verwehrt geblieben, zumal das Fehlen von Straßennamen und anderen Orientierungspunkten es nicht gerade leicht machten, sich hier zurechtzufinden.

Von Carlos erfuhren wir alles Wissenswerte zu Politik und Geschichte (zu der wir als "gelernte DDR-Bürger" ja ein spezielles Verhältnis haben), er berichtete über Lebens- und Eigenarten der Bewohner und natürlich über sich selbst - ein perfekter Einstieg für unsere Reise durch das Land!


Blick auf die Stadt und den Managua-See



Auf dem Plaza de República


alle Fotos



weiter nach Massaya

 


  ROUTE:

   Managua

   Massaya

   Granada

   Ometepe

   San Juan

   Leon

   El Castillo

   Bluefields

   Corn Island

home | route & karte | reisebericht | fotos | people & friends | gästebuch | links | kontakt