At the Rio San Juan River

By buses and boats nearly through the whole country, we reached our next destination: El Castillo at the Rio San Juan River, which connects the Lake Nicaragua with the Atlantic.

Here we lived in proper style in a pile dwelling directly above the river. Apart from funny parties with the international 10-people-crew of our accommodation, we mostly used the time for exploring the unspoilt nature surrounding the river.

For the common trip into the National Park "Reserva Biológica de los Ríos Indio y Maíz" we went by boat towards Atlantic. Here the river is the border between Nicaragua and Costa Rica. In the National Park, besides the everytime impressive flora of the jungle, we saw mini-frogs and giant-ants - both about the same size then and extremely poisonous! Later we had a lot of fun when we were swimming in the river. It's said there were crocodiles here but fortunately we were wearing rubber boots…

Of course, we also visited the fortress, which gave the village its name and from where you have a great view at the river and its surroundings. Latest when you are here on the top you will understand the former strategic importance of the fortress.

All in all, the stay here was very relaxing. You feel far away from civilization - there are no cars, very few tourists and little comfort (water was running from the tap only half an hour daily…). The river dominates the life and as leisurely it runs goes the everyday life…



View at El Castillo and the fortress



Common trip to the National Park


Fascinating flora of the jungle


all pictures



towards the Caribbean




  ROUTE:

   Managua

   Massaya

   Granada

   Ometepe

   San Juan

   Leon

   El Castillo

   Bluefields

   Corn Island

home | route & map | travelogue | pictures | people & friends | guestbook | links | contact

Zur Sartseite Route & Karte Reisebericht Die schönsten Fotos der Reise People & Friends Gästebuch Nicaragua- Links Kontakt & Impressum english versionwww.ak11.de

Am Rio San Juan

Mit Bussen und Booten fast einmal quer durch das Land erreichten wir unser nächstes Ziel: El Castillo am Rio San Juan, der den Nicaragua-See mit dem Atlantik verbindet.

Stilecht wohnten wir hier in einem Pfahlbau direkt über dem geschichtsträchtigen Fluss. Neben amüsanten Parties mit der 10köpfigen internationalen Belegschaft unserer Unterkunft nutzten wir die Zeit vor allem zum Erforschen der unberührten Natur, die den Fluss säumt.

Zur gemeinsamen Tour in den Nationalpark Reserva Biológica de los Ríos Indio y Maíz ging es erstmal per Boot Richtung Atlantik. Hier bildet der Fluss die Grenze zu Costa Rica. Im Nationalpark treffen wir außer der immer wieder faszinierenden Pflanzenwelt des Dschungels u.a. auf Mini-Frösche und Riesen-Ameisen, beide also etwa gleich groß und extrem giftig! Später hatten wir jede Menge Spaß beim Baden im Fluß. Es soll hier Krokodile geben, aber wir haben ja zum Glück Gummistiefel ...

Natürlich besichtigten wir auch die Burg, die dem Ort seinen Namen gab und einen großartigen Ausblick auf den Fluss und die Umgebung gewährt. Spätestens hier oben versteht man die strategische Bedeutung, die diese Festung einst hatte.

Insgesamt war der Aufenthalt hier sehr entspannend. Man fühlt sich fernab der Zivilisation - es gibt keine Autos, kaum Touristen und wenig Komfort (fließendes Wasser gab es nur eine halbe Stunde täglich...). Der Fluss bestimmt das Leben und ebenso gemächlich wie dieser fließt, gestaltet sich auch der Alltag ...



Blick auf den Ort El Castillo und die Festung



gemeinsamer Ausflug in den Nationalpark


faszinierende Pflanzenwelt im Dschungel


alle Fotos



weiter Richtung Karibik




  ROUTE:

   Managua

   Massaya

   Granada

   Ometepe

   San Juan

   Leon

   El Castillo

   Bluefields

   Corn Island

home | route & karte | reisebericht | fotos | people & friends | gästebuch | links | kontakt